How does therapy work?

Loved this blog and loved the article too. I think this is worth a read for anyone going through therapy for childhood trauma/abandonment etc – it has really helped to settle me in feeling I was doing and feeling things “wrong”.

Life in a Bind - BPD and me

I wanted to share with you an article that I found, that played a role in the difficult (but ultimately step-changing) experience that I had in therapy recently, which I touched upon in my previous post. It is an article about the importance of healing past wounds, rather than ‘making up for them’. In particular, it talks about the importance of therapy enabling grieving what he did not receive as children, rather than becoming a substitution for it:

http://howtherapyworks.com/working-inner-child/?platform=hootsuite

I’m very aware this is a hugely contentious topic, both amongst therapists and amongst clients. Even amongst those whose blogs I read and love, and amongst the bloggers who follow me, there are those whose therapists believe in very direct ‘re-parenting’ and in trying to provide what was missing for their clients; and those whose therapists believe they cannot and should not try to substitute for those missing experiences, but…

View original post 845 more words

Leave a Reply

