Unchanging Love

I was playing a new album yesterday and found this song.  The words seem to speak straight to my heart. They make me feel all emotional and gooey.  I feel like the song was written for me about my feelings towards my T and I can’t stop playing it. “More than a blessing”.. “if it wasn’t for your love, I wouldn’t have made it through” so many sentences that are so very accurate.
“Unchanging Love”
(performed by Mavado)

Unchanging love, unchanging love
Almighty through there now
Almighty through there now
Almighty irie, me told, oh
Mightier though

Once I was younger
Now I’m older, yeah
‘Cause of you, my chains have broken
You were there with the arms wide open
Unchanging love, more than a blessing
‘Cause of you my chains have broken
You were there with your arms wide open

I was so confused, I jumped in the edge
So caught in a world full of hate?
Used to make the wrong choices along the way
I know that I gotta make a change
Finally the loving inside
I started to do some meditation
But it was you ‘pon side
Cuff ’em in the outside

Once I was younger
Now I’m older, yeah
‘Cause of you, my chains have broken
You were there with the arms wide open
Unchanging love, more than a blessing
‘Cause of you my chains have broken
You were there with your arms wide open

If it wasn’t for your love
I wouldn’t have made it through, ooh
If it wasn’t for your love
I might wanna make it through, ooh
If it wasn’t for your grace and your mercy
That kept me through
I couldn’t do it all on my own
I couldn’t do this all alone

Once I was younger
Now I’m older, yeah
‘Cause of you, my chains have broken
You were there with the arms wide open
Once I was younger
Now I’m older, yeah
‘Cause of you, my chains have broken
‘Cause of you, my chains have broken
I was young
Now I’m old
I was young
Yeah, yeah

 

2 thoughts on “Unchanging Love

  1. This song is an altered worship song. It talks about the unwavering, unchanging, constant Love of God. This song was written to describe the way God loves you even when you turn away from Him, that He is always waiting and longing for a deeper relationship with you. To hold you, His child in His arms and give you peace like never before. The love and guidance of your T may be close to perfect but the love of God is more consuming, more healing, more constant and more personal than you could ever get from another human. To grow in God and be steady by His amazing hands is an unmatched feeling of love and personal strength.

    Sung by New Wine Worship

    Choose Language
    Unchanging love changed everything
    You made me yours
    My heart was captured by Your grace
    You called my name

    You met me more than halfway, (Jesus)
    breaking my every last chain

    I’m running to Your arms again
    this is where I’ll remain
    I’m running to Your arms again
    I’ll never be alone again
    Never be alone again

    As far as east is from the west, You banished shame
    I stand forgiven, loved and blessed, now free to praise

    You meet me more than halfway (Jesus)
    Surprised and saved by Your grace

    You tore the heavens
    To reach this fragile heart of mine
    Yours forever
    I am precious in your eyes

    Chris Lawson Jones, Nick Herbert, Chris McClarney & Susie Woodbridge

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

