A card with all the words in…

So yesterday was Mother’s Day. I had been dreading it for weeks.  A whole day devoted to mothers. A whole day devoted to her. A day where society tells us, no matter our age – that we must thank the one who brought us into this world.

Mother’s Day is idealized. Mothers themselves are idealized. Not everyone’s mother deserves to have a day dedicated to “celebrating” them and yet society tells us that we must. It is enough to make us vomit.  Well if you have a mother like mine.

Having a mother who is a narcissist or who has NPD like mine makes this day really sh*t.  They expect presents, cards, praise and thanks.. not actually much different to any other day, but this day they are “allowed” to expect it because otherwise everyone will disapprove of YOU, not just your Narc mother.  So it becomes your duty.

The thing is, once you find out your mother has NPD, things start to make sense – at last! It is hugely uplifting which I know sounds a bit twisted, but the understanding that the problem really wasn’t you, is a feeling like nothing else. Shortly following the elation comes the pain… the devastation and the grief…  I haven’t spent nearly 3 years (and counting) in therapy to spend Mother’s Day thanking my mother for all that she did (and did not) do for me.  The reason I spend thousands of pounds a year and hours of my week in therapy is after all, because of her.

I have been aware of the day coming up, walking past a card shop twice a day on my daily commute has served as a constant reminder. I put off buying anything for my mum for as long as possible. In the past, I would have been thinking about what to get her for weeks. What would she REALLY like, what would make her happy… sadly, what would make her love me?

I’m not sure I understood that is what I was doing, but I do now and that is really sad. Now that I am nearly 3 years into my therapy, I am on the way to acceptance and healing from the damage my narc mother has caused me and I have let go of the need to try to please her. I no longer want to spend money I don’t have on finding the right present – because it is completely unobtainable anyway. It is a challenge that cannot every be gratified.

So, I have finally accepted this and so I purposely get a small gift and tell myself that it IS enough. That it will do.. but I won’t lie, it goes against everything in my body when I do this – it feels completely wrong to me.  I brought her a candle. A nice candle, a candle I know she loves because she has brought them for me (and she always buys things that SHE likes you see)…. I had it wrapped nicely in paper and in a nice gift bag.. then it was time to find the card..

Eugh the card is the hardest part. For anyone reading this that has a narc mother you will know what I mean. Even writing about the card makes my heart feel funny.

Card shops are my nemesis on mother’s day. I hate it. I hate watching everyone in there searching for the perfect card for their perfect mothers. I hate those people. Well, I don’t hate them at all, but I am jealous of them – I admit it!

I didn’t put myself through reading the cards this year. I managed to find the perfect card for my mother. It was a jokey card – one about mum drinking lots of wine instead of doing the chores! Was I being passive aggressive? Possibly…. but even she couldn’t deny the card summed her up perfectly. I will however be totally honest here and say, I still feel a pang of guilt that I know it would have upset her not to receive what she was hoping for.

She always told me growing up that she expects the cards with “all the words in” – and so that is what she used to get… but now I just can’t bring myself to do it.  I debated just grinning and bearing it and buying her a card full of “all the words” whether I meant them or not, but I can’t – it feels way too hypocritical and so I didn’t but I feel guilt about that today. Guilt that I have no doubt my T would say wasn’t mine. T would tell me to “give it back” and she would tell me it “doesn’t belong to me”.  But it feels like it does.

Yesterday morning I woke up and saw Facebook covered in lovely statuses to everyone’s “amazing mothers”.. thanking them for everything they do for them, telling them how they hope they turn out half as good as them.. rada rada radaaaaa… I knew how much my mother would love a status like that but I couldn’t bring myself to do that either.

I had to go for lunch with her yesterday. My grandparents were also there, as was my step dad, my sister and my boyfriend. I watched my mother give my Nan, her mother, a card. It was no typical card. The card was huge and it came in its own box. A special box which encased a special, huge card – one with all the words in.  Obviously.  Put simply, the card she brought her mother, shat all over the card I brought for my mother.  It has got me questioning, is she trying to win her mother’s love? I mean, she didn’t turn out this narcissist through pot-luck.

Somewhere along the line she got injured so badly that she turned this way.  The problem with having this feeling is that it does make me somewhat sympathetic towards my mother. I know first-hand how bloody painful it is trying to win your mother’s love and never getting it. Never feeling good enough.  Always feeling faulty.  If she has spent her whole life feeling like that (whether consciously or not) then I guess I kind of understand that she did the best job she knew how to… she did the best job with the tools that she had… even if that means the job she did was awful…… it is very hard to feel anger and pain and sympathy and hate all at once.  It makes me feel guilty. Yes, yes I know – blah blah blah…….

I noticed that my Nan asked my mother in quite an accusational tone whether I had got her a card. My mother said yes, and then she asked me, “Twinkletoes, did you get your mother a nice mother’s day card???”  What a weird question… the thing is, this question would have been fuelled somehow by my mother, it wouldn’t have come out of nowhere. I assume they’ve been discussing me and how I never make any effort anymore or something like that.  Meh. She also sat at the table and asked whether “anyone had any exciting news” which was very clearly aimed at me and my boyfriend and the hope that we would be announcing news of an engagement or pregnancy – that irritated me too, not because she asked, but because it was evidence of conversations had between her and my mother (trust me, I know them both well).

My mother brought my nan some presents which my nan opened in the restaurant, one of which was rather odd. My nan asked me if I liked it and I politely smiled and said, it was nice (although I think it was probably evident by my face that I thought otherwise).  My nan asked me what I collected and I said I didn’t collect anything. She looked appalled and said “you don’t collect ANYTHING??”…. My mother then said that her, my nan and my sister all liked the same things – that they all had the same taste… all of them apart from me.  For once, this was music to my ears! Is this a sign that I have broken free? A few years back, this would have devastated me but today it makes me feel relieved.  I am on my way to becoming my own person. My authentic self.

T has taught me that narc mothers think that we are extensions of them – and so it is important for my mother that I look like her, dress like her, like the same things as her and if I don’t – that spells trouble. Now that I properly understand this, it has made things much easier.

I thought about my T several times yesterday morning whilst getting ready for the meal. I thought about what she would be doing. I thought that she probably got some lovely cards – ones with all the words in.  Some thoughtful presents, not about their value but the sentiment.  I wondered whether her children would cook for her or bake her a cake like I would have liked to do if things were different. I caught myself and told myself that T isn’t my mother and never would be. I thought about writing her a card/note/email to let her know I was thinking of her after all, mother’s day is about celebrating all “motherly” figures, right?

I told myself that clinging on to the thought/hope/fantasy that she is or could ever be was just an attempt to soften the blow of my harsh reality. I didn’t really like that internal conversation and so I didn’t revisit that until writing it out now. I am suddenly very aware that attaching towards my T in a daughter like way/seeing her as a mother figure is purely an attempt to replace my mother with her instead of grieving the relationship I actually have with my real mother.  I know that is the truth even if I don’t like it.  And I don’t like it.

I note that I “forgot” to send my step-mum a card this year. This is very unlike me, in fact I’m not sure I have ever forgotten before apart from the years that me and my dad have not been speaking (which is quite a few!).  I remembered enough times to have sorted something out and yet I didn’t and I have been questioning myself why since.

In the past I have been to see her, taken her flowers or sent flowers if I didn’t visit and yet this year all I did was send a text message. I think that I realised that sending her flowers and taking her gifts were other examples of me trying to prove my worth – hoping it would make her/my dad see how lovely I was… perhaps that wish has gone away now. I did send her a nice text message but also feel a bit guilty today that I didn’t make the effort to post a card.   A few years ago me and my dad went nearly 3 years without speaking and I was (am?) upset that in that time I didn’t hear from her either.  Perhaps another example of me being a bit passive? That’s food for thought.

I’m a (unofficial) stepmum myself. My boyfriend asked me what he should do about mother’s day this year, because they are awkward for me… it is my view that he shouldn’t force the children to acknowledge me on this day because I am NOT their mum and that is the point of the day…. I said perhaps when we are married and I am officially their stepmum, a bunch of daffs might be nice but I think it totally defeats the point if the adult is telling the kids they have to.  It is my hope that one day perhaps they would buy me or make me a card, off their own back but if they don’t then that’s okay – because I am not their mum.  I hope one day to have my own child and I will not force or expect my child to do or buy me anything for mother’s day – clearly I hope that my child will love me in a healthy way and might want to draw me a picture for the fridge or whatever, but not because I think that day is all about me. Not because I will pile on the pressure for them to conform to society.

 

 

On a final note – please can I just say that for anyone reading this who may have found yesterday painful due to their loving mother’s no longer being here – I truly am sorry for you and I appreciate that some people may read this blog and think I am incredibly selfish for feeling this way. I understand that some people will be shouting “at least your mum is still here!!” at the screen and I don’t expect you to get it – the whole narcissist mother thing is very hard to comprehend and so I’m not going to even try to get people to understand.

 

19 thoughts on “A card with all the words in…

  1. A million steps in the right direction, your direction! I don’t think mothers day will hold the same horridness for you ever again, because you sound ready to start grieving that relationship as you said. I imagine with another year’s worth of therapy, you’ll either not buy a card at all and be totally OK with that decision, or you’ll buy one with a completely different outlook, one after the grieving process, when the relationship is different, because she won’t have any of your strings left to pull to influence your decisions. Xxxx

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thank you lovely, you are always right there supporting me with this crappy stuff. I really appreciate it. I hope you are right – one day it will be easier I am sure, however that comes to be…… I am just confused about how I can be feeling sympathy for her at the same time as being passive aggressive and feeling sadness because of her – isn’t that all very odd?? xx

    Like

  3. Hi. I am new to your blog, you write very well. Mother’s Day is so difficult. I can understand all the emotions you talked about, feeling guilty, feeling pressured to give her praise and perfection she will never appreciate. I don’t think you are selfish at all, what I read was a thoughtful person processing true feeling about a hard topic. Take care. -Lora

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh thank you so much. That’s so nice of you to take the time to say, I really appreciate your kind words. I always worry about posting things like this because everyone sees things differently don’t they? I have yet to receive anything abusive but you never know when/if that might happen… I thought about sending this to my therapist ahead of my session tomorrow night but couldn’t make my mind up whether to or not…. I could just take it with me but I normally chicken out lol x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Maybe send it with a note saying you may or may not be willing to discuss it just yet, but when you are ready he/she will have it and they will know?? just a thought. People do see things differently and I think its very scary to put myself out there. I haven’t had any abusive comments either but I still hold my breathe every time. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Well as long as we stick together we should be okay. 😀 people commenting like you and my other nice readers make it worth the risk!!

        That is an idea…. I still cringe at her reading the stuff about her! X

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I ended all contact with my mother many years before she died because she was twisted and abusive. I never looked back. She also demanded sentimental wordy cards for holidays. It was with great relief I remember the first year that I didn’t have to go to a card store and purchase a card full of lies. I think it is great that you still see your mother though. And that you resisted being guilted into buying a card that would make you ill.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I totally understand how you would feel awkward on mother’s day and fuck what anyone else thinks when they read your blog! I had a narc dad but I’ve gone zero contact with him and my mum. It was painful but extremely satisfying and empowering. I did a Facebook post yesterday for the people who had shit mums saying I understood!! It was a really tough day for me and it’ll take me a few days to detox after all that Facebook competitive loving of mum bullshit. You understand everything really well and I’m glad you didn’t pander to her narcissistic demands 😊😊 Good on ya xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. think you did the right thing with the card! for what its worth. my mom and I have a turbulent relationship at the best of times. she doesn’t really accept my did or mental illness. its hard because I want her approval and love and she cant or doesn’t want to give me what I want in the way I want it. I feel sad about that. I went ouday night with her and I did give her flowers and a card and stuff but I think I it because I thought it was the irhgt thing to do on the day. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is sad, I am sorry that you have such a turbulent relationship with her – there is a huge amount of stigma attached with us having any kind of mental health problems because it points the figure towards them being the cause – their parenting skills etc and that is something that they just cannot accept! xx

      Liked by 1 person

  7. A mother-daughter relationship can be the hardest relationship to navigate but when the mother is manipulative and a narcissist it’s near impossible.

    My going through all the Mother’s Day cards was more due to needing to find one with nothing ‘mushy’ inside. She would have cringed had I ever got her a loving wordy card. I was okay with this, though, as she never raised me to feel warm toward her anyway. Nonetheless, it meant standing there going through 50 cards until I found the one that simply said “Happy Mother’s Day, I hope you have a nice day” or something of the like.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

