Session after “The Emails” Part 2

This is Part 2 (see Part 1 here)

I told her that I think it is best for me that we agree she will never contact me first because I think if she did sometimes and not others, I would struggle with that and it might cause me more pain.  She agreed to this very quickly and said she thought perhaps that was most sensible but we could review this and nothing was set in concrete. I surprised myself that I potentially could have stopped this from happening one day, but I guess I was doing the right thing for myself in the long-term… or, as T said, perhaps it being “my decision” meant I took back some control which made it less painful.  Maybe.

We discussed what I said about her responding clinically and my fear that if she did she would cement in the feeling of being “just a client”.  She said “Yes, and all the negative connotations that come with that of course”. I nodded. We spoke a little more about therapists responding via email and the problems it can cause. She said sometimes she/T’s are “damned if they do, damned if they don’t” and that sometimes they just have to take a “leap of faith and hope for the best”. 

She told me that sometimes she might misunderstand something and sometimes she might not respond in the way I want her to.  She told me this might absolutely enrage me and that if that happens, we will just have to work through it together.  She then told me a story about her own therapy where her therapist had responded in an email telling her it was “okay to let it go” and that she was absolutely furious at this because she interpreted it to mean “let it go” whereas her therapist had actually meant – let the tears out.  She said she laughed about it now but that it did actually cause a huge rupture. She said sometimes if there is anger being expressed via email, it is actually best to wait until the session rather than dealing with it via email because she said just her kind response could actually “dilute” a lot.  She said if it is close to a session, she might respond to say something along the lines of “bring it with you tomorrow” and that this might annoy me.  I said I think I would struggle but this conversation would help that a little.  She said that when you are right in the anger, this conversation won’t actually help at all!

I read out loud the paragraph about boundaries – I was particularly dreading reading that bit to her. (I still cringe a little at swearing in front of her, although I am getting better because she has started to swear too so makes me feel like it’s more allowed). I read the bit about only being allowed my feelings during scheduled hours wasn’t fair and she agreed. She said it absolutely wasn’t fair and it was very hard – I started to cry a bit, she carried on validating me and before I knew it the flood gates were open and I was really crying again. I actually couldn’t breathe properly at one stage and had mascara dripping off of my nose! (I bet I looked very sexy!) She said some really kind things – like “I am so sorry you are having to go through this” and things like that.  They seem to have made me cry even harder but they were really nice to hear.

I read the line about feeling like I was that kid again, bashing the door in with my hairbrush. She was nodding quite enthusiastically and said “Well yes! You do because what else could you do? You were furious and being ignored”. I told her that I can still visualise being locked in that room like it was yesterday. I was locked in there such a long time and according to my mother, I bashed on the door for hours and hours but I said I highly doubted it was that long.  She looked sad and said that those angry feelings were completely justified.

We spoke a little about her upcoming Easter holiday (2 weeks! Aghhh) and I said I was dreading it and what if this sort of thing happened just before she went away? I said the thought of it made me panic. She said that the psyche has a very clever knack of “winding down” before breaks and that I should be okay. She said that we would get through it.  I don’t want her to go again.

She said something about session times being only an hour and said that a lot of therapists offer 50 minute sessions with ten minute breaks between clients. She said she had no idea how these therapists managed to do that. I said I was glad it was a full hour because an hour feels so quick, so 50 minutes would be even quicker! She said that the reason sessions are an hour are because the psyche gets to “wind up” then “wind down” again, hopefully enough that we can leave feeling relatively grounded and then a lot of the processing is done between sessions.  I understood this anyway and said to her that I did a lot of my processing the following day.  I said that the evening of my sessions I am normally just tired and needing sleep, but the following day I tend to write it all out and that is when it starts to make proper sense to me.  She asked whether I was able to remember a lot of our conversations and I said yes, usually but joked that perhaps if she were to read my account of our sessions, perhaps she would disagree!

I mentioned to her that someone I followed on here (enter Sirena) was allowed to record her sessions and that I have wondered whether this would help me in that I could play our sessions back and wouldn’t forget anything… she said that this may bring its own problems but is something we could think about and talk about some more.  I liked that she didn’t just refuse which I thought she might.

That is about all I can remember for now…. I left feeling that warm feeling of attachment/connection which I love and wish lasted longer and will admit (despite its pathetic-ness) that I played a song very loudly on the way home called Home –  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VGvo62fX8V8 and thought of how it sometimes feels like “home” when we connect like that… I know, pass the sick bucket!!!

I got home and felt very tired and delicate.  I went to bed early and I’ve felt kind of sad today. I’m not really sure why considering the connection but perhaps it’s just a therapy hangover.

I then had a dream featuring my mum and her ex-boyfriend (who abused me) where my mum decided to take him back despite knowing what he had done to me.  She just stood there with a blank face and he smiled. UGH, not enough crap for one night clearly!

15 thoughts on “Session after “The Emails” Part 2

  1. I wonder why therapist’s have that opinion about recording sessions? I can cause a row in an empty room, fight with my shadow and nitpick at the most innocent of comments, but never ever ever has their been a problem or rupture bourne out of listening back to my session. If anything it’s prevented a few ruptures because I’ve listened back and heard the proper context of something I think she said.
    Anyhow, big session for you. Well done on getting through it. You brought your vulnerability and that brought connection.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I thought this! I did say that I can be a bit obsessive between sessions. It’s like a cling onto the things we spoken about so perhaps it’s that? I don’t know… she didn’t dismiss it bit it didn’t look promising either. Thank you, it felt like another big session, the last month seems to have ramped up a lot! Xx

      Like

      1. Well you’ll never know unless you try it. It might just help you with the attachment stuff. No big deal if it doesn’t work for you. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow you’ve done an awful lot in a short space of time. I am bowled over by your bravery in talking about all of this openly with your T. And so happy you left feeling attached and connected. It’s amazing when you get to leave a session feeling like that. x

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Well I guess t’s good to have it, even if it doesn’t last too long. Maybe the more you do this kind of work in sessions, the longer you’ll be able to keep the connection in between. x

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah I hope so. She did tell me yesterday that gradually I will learn to take that in and keep it. Apparently that’s why she’s suggested to me before to text or email her if I need to to check “she’s there” but that’s not something I’ve done yet. X

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I have been in the same situation before with my therapist where I emailed her and then thought why in the heck did I do that. We talked through it and made it past it all as well. I even do that now as I journal daily and she reads it. She will see there are days I rip pages out and asks me not to do that because she wants to know what I think even if I do come across mean when I really don’t mean to.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s getting better, I just cringe when I have to read bits to her that are embarrassing! But I do see the benefit of reading everything totally unfiltered. My T says that often it’s the stuff we don’t want to tell them, that’s the most important!! X

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

